Elite golf stewards set for Phoenix honor

Golf Environment Awards 2024

The prestigious 2023 Environmental Leaders in Golf Awards (ELGA) winners are set to receive their awards in Phoenix, Arizona at the upcoming GCSAA Trade Show & Conference.

The awards, organized by Golf Course Superintendents Association of America (GCSAA) and Golf Digest in collaboration with Syngenta, recognize the outstanding environmental stewardship efforts and sustainable practices of golf course superintendents.

Each of this year's winners and runners-up have demonstrated and continue to exemplify a commitment to environmental best management practices. 

The ELGAs, which have celebrated environmental stewardship since 1993, highlight specific areas of focus, including Communications and Outreach, Healthy Land Stewardship, Innovative Conservation, and Natural Resource Conservation.

GCSAA CEO Rhett Evans commended the awardees, stating, “The ELGA awards are a way to recognize those golf course superintendents who exemplify a tremendous commitment to environmental stewardship, while still providing quality playing conditions.

"We are always thrilled to acknowledge those who are standouts in keeping the game of golf sustainable. Congratulations to all the recipients.”

The 2023 ELGA Winners and runners-up, to be honored in Phoenix, include:

Communications and Outreach Award

H. Mitchell Wilkerson, CGCS

Moss Creek Owner’s Association

Hilton Head, South Carolina

First Runner-up: Wayne Mills, La Cumbre Country Club, Santa Barbara, California

Second Runner-up: Coman Mulry, MG, Al Zorah Golf Club, United Arab Emirates

Healthy Land Stewardship Award

Matthew Gourlay, CGCS, MG

Colbert Hills Golf Course

Manhattan, Kansas

First Runner-up: Kevin Goss, Sugar Creek Golf Course, Villa Park, Illinois

Second Runner-up: Harlyn Goldman, CGCS, Needwood Golf Course, Derwood, Maryland

Innovative Conservation Award

Jim Pavonetti, CGCS

Fairview Country Club

Greenwich, Connecticut

First Runner-up: Carl Thompson, CGCS, Columbia Point Golf Course, Richland, Washington

Second Runner-up: Jay Wade, CGCS, Magnolia Green Golf Club, Moseley, Virginia

Natural Resource Conservation

Landon Lindsay

The Nelson Golf and Sports Club

Irving, Texas

First Runner-up: Charles (Roby) Robertson IV, CGCS, TPC San Antonio (Texas)

Second Runner-up: Justin Brimley, Crystal Springs Golf Course, Burlingame, California

The winners will be formally recognized during the GCSAA Conference and Trade Show, taking place from January 29 to February 1, 2024.